First Research Retreat a Success


A few days before Rosh Hashana, to wind up the Jewish year, the Azrieli Faculty of Medicine held its first ever two-day research retreat, on September 10-11, 2023. To be sure, high level, first-rate research conferences have of course been taking place at the Faculty for years, but this year students, researchers, faculty and other academics and professionals spent two full days including an overnight stay, at the Pastoral Hotel in Kfar Blum, enjoying science and camaraderie.

After welcoming remarks by the Dean, Prof. Orly Avni, who opened with the question "What is a good scientist?" Prof. Meital Gal Tanamy, Associate Dean Research, noted that the two days are dedicated to celebrating creativity and hard work, and are an excellent opportunity to make connections. Prof. Tzipora Falik-Zaccai, previous Vice Dean Medical Research, quoted from the weekly Torah portion "לֹא בַשָּׁמַיִם הִיא" - that everything is possible, within reach. Prof. Falik Zaccai was presented with flowers for her years of dedication to the Faculty.

Plenary sessions over the two days were given by Prof. Eli Schwartz (Sheba Tel Hashomer) who spoke about travel medicine and globalization, Dr. Yael Gruenbaum-Cohen (aMoon) who spoke about what happens to an idea that leaves academia and goes to industry, and Dr. Alon Wolf (Technion) who spoke about medical technology and ethics.

Over the two days, more than 20 students and researchers presented their studies, and almost 100 posters were displayed. Best presentation award was given to Mor Zigdon (Dr. Shai Bel) and Tal Benjamin (Dr. Ronit Ilouz). Best poster to Sonia Modilevsky (Dr. Shai Bel), Ester Avazada (Prof. Amnon Harel), Mahesh Kumar Cinthakunta Sridhar (Dr. Nir Qvit), and Supriya Bhattacharya (Prof. Meir Shamay).

And of course, none of this would have been possible without the hard work of (in alphabetical order) Ilana Bar-Sabag, Yehiel Dahan and his staff, Prof. Michael Edelstein, Prof. Evan Elliott, Prof. Tzipora Falik‐Zaccai, Dan Hinenzon and his staff, Nurit Maor, Dr. Eyla Maoz, Belal Mari, Dr. Ron Orbach, Hadas Oren, Dr. Dorit Raviv Shay, Noam David Reshelbach, Dr. Moran Yadid. 

A few pictures can be seen here.

With thanks to our sponsors: 


Last Updated Date : 18/09/2023